Skip to content

Car Warranty Expiration Phone Calls to Your Cell Phone are a Scam

April 23, 2009

Over the last several months, my cell phone has been inundated with these scam phone calls from tele-marketers claiming that my warranty is expiring.  This is the case even though I no longer own the car that they are calling about (LOL).  It’s at the point where I now screen all my calls on my cell and if I don’t recognize the number, I don’t answer it.  

Just for kicks, I often google these numbers and it’s no surprise I get many hits calling the number out as a scam/tele-marketer.  These tele-marketers somehow appear to keep calling me in violation of federal law (Do Not Call List, Calling after federally approved hours, etc.)

Who is Behind This?  

I just heard a great piece on the Today Show about this.  According to the Today Show it’s several companies.  One of the largest is US Fidelis (located outside of St. Louis with some 250,000 customers).   You may have seen their TV ads which sound great and too good to be true.

“You can save Thousands of Dollars on car repairs with an extended warrant from US Fidelis”

“This is not the same warranty that car dealers offer…its better”

The woman featured in the piece believed the ads and purchased a $3,180 policy from them.  She was told it would cover any major repairs.  But when her car overheated last month guess what the policy covered?  Nothing!

Investigators say that the policies are deceptive.  In fact, US Fidelis has over 1100 complaints from the Better Business Bureau and an “F” rating!  The are one of five extended warranty providers now under investigation in 40 States for unfair and deceptive practices.  And get this, the company’s founder and president (Darain Atkinson) is a convicted felon for, (you guessed it) theft, burglary, forgery and counterfeiting!   Oh yeah and guess who is building a $17 Million mansion in Missouri with an 11 car garage, in-door and out-door pool, bowling alley and underground passage way.  You’re on a roll today.  Mr. Presidente Atkinson….(hmm…a lot of suckers are paying for this grand palace).  

Their logo has a halo over it because they are a “Faith Based” company.  (I know this is too much!)

And former employees are speaking out!  Calling out that they were told to lie and deceive and make customers think that they were getting a car warranty associated with a car company.  In fact, they have nothing to do with the car manufacturers.  

Bottom Line:  Run from this.  Don’t respond whatsoever.  

Get on the Do Not Call List and report tele-marketers who violate this.  

Create your own Warranty.  Save $50-100 a month for your car rainy day fund 🙂

For more on this topic see:  

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/23147777/

Also to get on the Do Not Call Lists, check out:

http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/consumerfacts/tcpa.html

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sean white permalink
    April 23, 2009 9:05 pm

    That’s why it’s important for people when they decide to buy an after market extended warranty, that they examine the fine print. Often people may be lured into buying protection which has already expired. In addition to doing the proper research on buying a car with low maintenance costs, people would be surprised at how much additional out of pocket they would pay in relation to not buying an extended warranty. Granted, this logic goes out the window when someone ends up w/ a lemon; however, a car with a low history of mechanical defects, their warranty money would be best placed in something like a CD in the event…something happens.

    Further…I too Google any number that I don’t recognize as well and have taken it a step further of programming the number into the cell phone with an ID that says “DNA — Do not answer”.

  2. April 23, 2009 9:21 pm

    That’s a great idea Sean to “flag” the number on your phone as DNA so that you know not to answer it!

  3. Tamika Amey permalink
    April 23, 2009 10:56 pm

    I find it very interesting to read this information especially considering that I received one of those calls yesterday. It’s not the first time I have received one of these calls but its normally from an automated voice whereas yesterday was an actual person. However, it is a good thing when you know what additional perks you have with your vehicle because I know that my extended warranty was not near its expiration and it is through my dealership, not a third party.

    Guys please beware of these scams

  4. Nikki permalink
    April 25, 2009 12:48 am

    I’m SO glad you posted about this! I thought I was the only one getting these harrassing calls! They have been calling both of my cell numbers saying that this is the 2nd notice. I had never received the first one so I figured something wasn’t quite right! Thank you for saying something about this so now when I hang up on them, I know it’s nothing serious! lol

Leave a Reply

